Day Twenty Nine and Negative Twenty Nine

I don’t think Rolo will be playing outside for recess today.

It’s a bit early to be this cold already, at least in our experience so far in Alaska. We’re getting very little snow, but this might be the year that we finally get those Fairbanks temps we hear so much about. At least there is no wind chill.

I plugged the truck in last night. I warmed the truck up for it’s obligatory 20 minutes or more. It turns out that none of that can do anything to help your tires. Intellectually I knew that my tires were just going thumpTHUMPthumpTHUMPthump and making my butt come an inch out of the seat because they were frozen, but the effect was so violent that I turned around and went back home to check that I didn’t have flat. I didn’t. I, of course, had tires that were frozen into solid blocks for about the first two miles into work this morning.

I am not dreaming of a white Christmas. I dream of being able to go outside in a light coat for a few days instead.

One thought on “Day Twenty Nine and Negative Twenty Nine

  1. I feel for you. I can’t imagine those temperatures, I just wanted to say that you are a wonderful Daughter-in-law Dawn. So proud you chose my son to love. Just putting that out there.

Leave a Reply

