Day Twenty One

Hey! Today marks one month until we arrive at home for Christmas break. It’s actually one day less than a month until we leave! Fantastic!

I don’t have a bad habit of counting down to leaving Alaska for a break or anything, do I? I don’t know what would give you that idea.

We’ve been trying to get through our Christmas shopping since the weeks are flying by even as the days seem to drag. I think we are pretty close to finished! At least the main parts. Soon I will remember all the teacher gifts and additional things that only occur to me just in time to become really inconvenient.

The way we deal with Christmas shopping here is that we do everything online and ship it to my parents house. We’ve done that every year that we have been in Alaska. In Bethel there was nowhere to shop in person and there is zero reason to ever travel with extra items. It works out pretty great for us. I’m sure my mother finds the whole thing to be a real hassle. She has to store everything until I can get there a day or two before Christmas and wrap. It’s a definite mess on her end.

The only other downside is that this year I didn’t really have any set ideas on what I wanted to get many people. Window shopping might have been really useful. Instead I just had to take the chance that things are going to look how I think they look. I sincerely hope that I don’t get to my parents house on Christmas Eve and realize I have to go replacement shopping that night. Christmas Eve is for eating (and drinking), playing games, and maybe some Christmas movies. That’s it. End of story.

Every other day of the break is for Mexican food.

Leave a Reply

