Spring Break in the Ice

Rolo and I met a friend and her kids at the Ice Park in Fairbanks today. Well, I met her after my phone took me to the middle of nothing and told me I had arrived at my destination. No matter how many times I passed the same spot and looked to my left I only ever found the same trees, metal barrier on the side of the road, and nothing. After many fits and starts I eventually found my way. If any Alaskans are reading this and wondering how to get to Ice Alaska Ice Park, follow the directions on the website. Don’t just trust your GPS to go from the link on their website. It doesn’t work.

This ice park was much larger and more ornate than the North Pole one. Here is how going to an ice park feels. That slide is made of ice! That merry go round is made of ice! That house is made of ice! That dragon is made of ice! That other slide is made of ice! That train is made of ice! That castle is made of ice! That toilet is made of ice! That igloo is made of ice! That ice rink is made of ice! Uhhhhh, I guess those last two aren’t that surprising. They generally are made of ice. Just to put your mind at ease, the couch, beds, toilet, sink, and other household items were sculpted as part of the ice playhouse. No real toilets made of ice.

It was kind of overcast and cold again today but nothing like the time we tried to go before Christmas. It is still hard to stay outside for long periods of time at an ice park where you periodically plant your butt in ice and touch ice and lay around in ice bowls. Certainly an Alaskan upbringing our kiddo is experiencing.

Leave a Reply

