Vacation Within A Vacation

Rosalind and I got back yesterday morning from spending a week in NWA visiting some family and friends. Actually, that wasn’t the whole purpose of the visit. We went so that Rosalind could participate in the Trike Theater Camp (which I would totally recommend to anyone. I love that it is cooperative instead of competitive for a change, among other things). The rest was all bonus. We stayed in Rogers with my Grandmother and the camp took place in downtown Bentonville. She has done this camp before and Sergio used to work right in that area, but this was the first time I had spent any significant time around there. Verdict: Bentonville is comically quaint. So cute you can’t help but laugh and feel like it is being orchestrated. Which I suppose it is on some level by Wal-Mart and the Waltons. It’s not a bad thing.

We also spent just a little time around Fayetteville because I took this trip as an opportunity for both Rosalind and I to visit our dentists. Rosalind saw a little girl that she went all through the Montessori school with at the office and they played together. The lady that cleaned my teeth is the mother of a former student. That one wasn’t much of a surprise though as she used to clean my teeth before. It was nice to catch up on that student though. She’s a Senior now. They always are.

So last week we managed to visit with Grandma and have a lot of good Grandma food. Rosalind got to hang out with her cousin Lorrie, which she loves to do. She learned some card games and dominos. She inherited her father’s love and intensity for these things.

IMG_1084 IMG_1085 IMG_1086

We saw our friends that had moved back to that area on more than one occasion and played in the sprinklers. We saw other friends and ate fried pickles and banana peppers.

IMG_1063 IMG_1065 IMG_1069 IMG_1073

(That big plastic thing they are on is a blob. It is a tarp and duct tape filled with water and it wobbles. On the one hand it is a lot harder to make than the instructions say, because wind/heat. On the other hand, when you are done you are totally shocked you made a whole awesome kids toy from scratch. Nikki and I made it.)

While Rosalind made new friends and used her “actor’s toolbox” at camp all week, I jogged around the Bentonville trails and took in Compton Gardens and lots of birds and armadillos and squirrels. We went back together later and Rosalind rode her scooter along the Crystal Bridges art trail. We had shave ices in the Bentonville square.

IMG_1089 IMG_1091  IMG_1094 IMG_1095 IMG_1098 IMG_1099 IMG_1101IMG_1102

I took Rosalind up to the University and showed her our names on the sidewalk. We looked at her old school. I ate Jimmy Johns and had Onyx coffee and then Pressroom coffee.

IMG_1054 IMG_1055 IMG_1056

It was a nice visit. I was pleased to see that very few major changes have occurred so far. I am also pleased to say that I will be back up that way in less than two weeks to pick Sergio up from the airport and then we will haunt our favorite Fayetteville places for a couple of days and hopefully see even more friends. Otherwise it might have been harder to leave. As it was I stayed two extra days.

Also, I think my Grandma’s dog is a fan of mine. What do you think?

IMG_1058

2 thoughts on “Vacation Within A Vacation

Leave a Reply

