Scenes From an Alaskan Playground

On Monday we got a slight reprieve from the super cold temperatures. It jumped to about 7 degrees and felt like -2! And it snowed! You know what that means? Outdoor recess. Quite frankly, it was a relief to let them outside after so much time indoors. They were going crazy. While I did my turn outside, which takes place in a sort of in-between period before all the classes get outside, I marveled at the resilience of kids. They will play.

If it is gray and dreary and -2, they will play.
outdoor recess

outdoor recess 2

If swinging makes it feel more like -10 and causes their teardrops to freeze, thew will swing.
Outdoor recess 3

If the ball is a frozen brick and they slide all over the court, they…will…play!outdoor recess 6

outdoor recess 5

outdoor recess 4

And I am going to age about 40 years in the time I am here. My skin is not made for this climate. outdoor recess 7

2 thoughts on “Scenes From an Alaskan Playground

  1. Children are very resilient, my granddaughter is going to be tough. I am sorry you are having such a time, I know I would be the same way.

Leave a Reply

