Snippet.

Scene: My car on the short trip to school. Rolo in her carseat in the back. Me driving up front.

Her: What will happen when I have my own baby one day?

Me: What do you mean?

Her: What will you be?

Me: Oh. Well, I’ll still be your mommy and I’ll be that kid’s grandmother.

Her: What will they call you?

Me: I don’t know. Not Grandma.

Her: How about Granny?

Me: Well, it will already have a Granny, so I’ll need something else.

Her: Oh, right, right, right. How about Gran Gran?

Me: I’ll think about it. How about Nana or Nan?

Her: Man?

Me: What should it call Daddy? Grandad? Pop? Papa?

Her: No. I think…Sergio Terrific.

Leave a Reply

