A Lesson In Vocabulary, as Taught by a Four Year Old

Rolo has had a major vocab explosion lately. I can tell she really takes a lot of pleasure in using new words. Unfortunately, this does not yet translate into using those words correctly. Which makes for a very entertaining stage. Here are a few examples I can remember off the top of my head, but there are so many more.

Said a few minutes after I had exasperatedly asked her if she could please cooperate,
“Okay, Mom. It’s time for a new toy. Let’s keep compromising!”

“Mom, watch how my cars will shoot in the air and hit the Lego’s and go woosh, pshhhh, kbbbb (exploding noises). It will be so romantic!”

“Speaking of snack, let’s talk about puppies.”

“I’m attracted to Ramen noodles. Attracted means you like something. Now I’m attracted to you daddy.”

“Finn and Princess Bubblegum are going to mate.” To which I respond, “uuuurrrrrmmmmmmmmmmmmm…..” and she says, “mate means date.” To which I further respond, “then just say date from now on.”

2 thoughts on “A Lesson In Vocabulary, as Taught by a Four Year Old

Leave a Reply

