Happenings.

So, after two years in the adorable little yellow cottage we are moving to a bigger rental. It’s not really news considering that we are just renting, but it’s what’s going on. I’m going to miss a lot of things about the itty bitty house. The location mostly, but also the mass amounts of honeysuckle plants in the yard. The pretty birds, the rabbit that eats our garden, the periodic appearance of the beaver in the shed. The schizophrenic gardening habits of our landlords, so that each new season is a surprise. The location. It’s going to be difficult to explain to Rosalind that we can’t ride her scooter to the frozen yogurt place and then the library anymore. We also lived there for two full years, making it the longest we have lived anywhere in our entire marriage. So now I have some distinct memories of holidays and milestones attached to the place.
On the other hand, I’m pretty excited for the fenced yard, the garage, the third bedroom, and the extra bathrooms in the new place. Rosalind is THRILLED by the prospect of her own bathroom with a TUB! Can you believe we’ve made that poor baby shower since she was two years old? Not to mention the fact that she can finally have all of her toys in one place at the same time. Right now we do a storage ring around the rosy. Only one big toy in the house at a time. And don’t get me started on the box of my old dolls sitting in my car that I won’t let her bring inside for lack of room. So the third bedroom and the garage should allow her to see all the toys at one time. She’ll probably continue to ignore most of them, but at least she’ll feel satisfied that they are there with her.
So we’ll be moving in a month. Let me know if you would like our new address soon.
It was Mother’s Day. Happy Mother’s Day! I went shopping with my mother and sister-in-law and all the girl children. Next time the children will go golfing or hiking with all the menfolk. Still a lot of fun though. I got a dress and some shoes. Yay for me.
My foot has fallen asleep so completely that I wobbled when I stood up. It felt really weird. One time in college I got a phone call early in the morning and I jumped off my PVC raised bed in a sleepy (possibly hungover) stupor and immediately fell to the concrete floor. Hard. Total collapse. Both legs were so asleep they might as well have been atrophied. And since I was probably hungover I stood up like three more times trying to get to the phone and continued to fall. When the phone stopped ringing I just flopped over in defeat. I’m sure it was quite a spectacle and I’m sorry nobody was there to enjoy it. So I’ve told you instead.

One thought on “Happenings.

Leave a Reply

