Brain Freeze

I feel as though I had a post idea recently, but it has since vanished into the abyss that is my brain. Perhaps I should write about my secret fear that I have early onset alzheimer’s. I can’t remember anything! I don’t really think I have that, but I do find myself grasping at thoughts that just sort of skitter away. I couldn’t fall asleep the other night because I couldn’t remember the name of the teacher I had taken over for at Elkins. I don’t know why it bothered me so much. He passed away three days after I was hired and I never met him. And I don’t even work there anymore! Anyway, I sat there waiting to fall asleep going through the alphabet until a letter stuck and I finally spit out a name. Then I went right to sleep! Until the next day when I couldn’t remember the last name of a former colleague and the first name of a former student. I’ve been known to wake up around 3 am and not be able to get back to sleep until I’ve successfully remembered the names of all the Von Trapp children.  I might not have Alzheimer’s but I certainly have some sort of mental issue!

Seriously though, I have no idea what I wanted to write about. Easter was fine. Rolo got a kite, some too small flip flops, and the Brave DVD. I developed an unhealthy obsession with Nerds jelly beans. They aren’t as all consuming as Starburst jelly beans, but they are pretty wonderful. Oh, we took Rosalind to her first 3D experience. We caught a 10 am showing of The Croods at the older theater here in Fayetteville. We were the only ones in the theater. I worried Rosalind might not function well with the glasses, but she was an old pro. It was such a great experience. She would reach for things flying toward her and exclaim that she had touched something and we wouldn’t have to stop her from talking. I highly recommend The Croods in 3D with little ones. It was pretty. Just to top off the day, Rolo played one of those claw machines on the way out of the theater. She plopped that claw down almost immediately and pulled up TWO items. Only the Angry Bird actually went down the chute. SpongeBob teetered on the edge without falling in. The next person was going to get really lucky too. Anyway, we figured we couldn’t really top that day for Rolo and took her home to nap with her new stuffed Angry Bird.

And….yeah, I still don’t remember what I originally wanted to write about. Wow, I know I’ve written more pointless posts than this before, but I bet this is right up there in the top ten.

Leave a Reply

